ENO Chorus

About the ENO Chorus

The ENO Chorus is one of the finest professional operatic ensembles in the UK today.

Tracing its roots to the founding of the Sadler’s Wells Opera Company by Lilian Baylis in 1931, the ENO Chorus is committed to bringing opera sung in English to the widest possible audiences in thrilling and theatrically inventive productions.

Read more about the history of ENO

The ENO Chorus plays a key role in the company ensemble performing repertoire from Henry Purcell to Philip Glass. Recent notable successes include major new productions of:

At the 2016 Laurence Olivier Awards, the ENO Chorus and Orchestra won the award for Outstanding Achievement in Opera, and the Chorus were named Chorus of the Year at the 2016 International Opera Awards.

‘The transcendent ENO Chorus, who made the relentless choral writing seem effortless’ (What’s on Stage Satayagraha 2018)

‘the excellent ENO Chorus has rarely seemed so effervescent.’ (Daily Express Iolanthe 2018)

‘There’s a welcome spotlight thrown on many individual ENO choristers. Yet the real star is the chorus as a body. The sound they make in this tiny space is thrilling.’ (Guardian Paul Bunyan at Wilton’s Music Hall 2018)

Opera World Premieres

The ENO Chorus have played crucial parts in world premieres including The Winter’s Tale (Ryan Wigglesworth); Nico Muhly’s Marnie and Iain Bell’s Jack the Ripper: The Women of Whitechapel.

They have performed Death in Venice at Het Muziektheater, Amsterdam, an acclaimed Peter Grimes at the BBC Proms, a series of sell-out performances of the Brahms Requiem and sung at the Aldeburgh Festival and the Barbican.

ENO Studio Live

The chorus have been at the forefront of ENO Studio Live productions often performing in principal roles. The inaugural production of The Day After was chosen by The Observer as one of the top ten musical events of 2017 – “ENO’s Chorus dazzled in world premiere of Jonathan Dove’s Phaeton-inspired opera”.

Other Studio Live productions include

The ENO Chorus: Who's who

Chorus MasterMark Biggins

Assistant Chorus Master – Harry Sever

Chorus Manager – David Dyer

Music Staff & Assistant Chorus Manager – Naomi Morgan


Joanne Appleby

Penelope Beavan

Fiona Canfield

View All

Gloria Crane

Julia Daramy-Williams

Natalie Herman

View All

Ella Kirkpatrick

View All

Claire Mitcher

Claire Pendleton

View All

Isabelle Peters

Jane Read

View All


Morag Boyle

View All

Deborah Davison

View All

Sophie Goldrick

Karen Foster

Helen Johnson

Suzanne Joyce

Amy Kerenza Sedgwick

Lydia Marchione

View All

Susanna Tudor-Thomas

View All


Allan Adams

View All

Geraint Hylton

View All

Murray Kimmins

View All

Satriya Krisna

Graeme Lauren

James Liu

David Newman

View All

Anton Rich

Pablo Strong

View All

Adam Sullivan

View All

Garry Sutcliffe


Robert Winslade Anderson

View All

Trevor Bowes

View All

Michael Burke

View All

David Campbell

Ronald Nairne

View All

Paul Napier-Burrows

View All

David Porter-Thomas

Paul Sheehan

View All

Christopher Speight

Andrew Tinkler

View All