Sunset Boulevard

Multi award-winning actress Glenn Close makes her West End debut.

Andrew Lloyd Webber’s hit musical Sunset Boulevard came to the London Coliseum in 2016, with Glenn Close reprising her Tony Award-winning role as Norma Desmond.

Sunset Boulevard is a compelling story of romance and obsession, based on Billy Wilder’s classic film, with celebrated book and lyrics by Don Black and Christopher Hampton.

When impoverished screenwriter Joe Gillis stumbles into the reclusive world of faded silent-screen goddess Norma Desmond, she sees the opportunity to make a comeback and rise to her former glory. He by turn is seduced by the actress and her luxurious lifestyle.  But the entanglement between the pair is to have dramatic and tragic consequences.

With the lush melodies of this much-loved score (including Sunset Boulevard, With One Look and The Perfect Year) performed by ENO’s acclaimed orchestra, this semi-staged production was a spectacular evening.

Lonny Price (Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street) returned to the London Coliseum to direct the limited run of 43 performances.

'Thrill a minute... triumphant'

Daily Telegraph

'The most sumptuous sound I've heard in a musical'

The Guardian

0 Evening Performances Remaining
0 Matinee Performances Remaining
Running Time
2hrs 40mins

English National Opera Productions Ltd in association with The GradeLinnit Company.

Sunset Boulevard is produced by arrangement with The Really Useful Group Ltd and is based on the original Paramount film by Billy Wilder.

Creative Team

Andrew Lloyd Webber


Don Black and Christopher Hampton

Book and lyrics

Michael Reed


Lonny Price


Matt Cowart

Associate Director

Stephen Mear


James Noone

Set Designer 

Tracy Christensen

Costume Designer

with Glenn Close's costumes by Anthony Powell

Mark Henderson 

Lighting Designer

Mick Potter

Sound Designer

David Grindrod

Casting Director 


Glenn Close

Norma Desmond

Michael Xavier

Joe Gillis

Siobhan Dillon

Betty Shaefer

Fred Johanson

Max Von Mayerling

Julian Forsyth

Cecil B DeMille

Mark Goldthorp


Fenton Gray


Haydn Oakley

Artie Green